Brooklyn Ninja with no f***s to give

My PPTC teammate allowed me to adopt that motto.  It was a comment on a picture of her doing the Frozen Half Marathon at 15 degrees, along the Shore Parkway, wind blowing off the harbor, balaclava, hood, and doing her badass winter running thing.  Similar to her I hate the treadmill but we depart with our love of running in the cold.  She is out there in all kinds of weather.

I remember doing a marathon training run with her on a damp autumn morning.  Rain was blowing sideways and I thought (hoping) she would have cancelled.  She came biking down Ocean Ave, tied her bike to the scaffold and off we went. One loop around Prospect Park and then down Ocean Parkway for the long, straight shot to Coney Island.  She seemed rather comfortable while I was freezing.  Damp and cold. By the time we got to the boardwalk, we still had about 3 more miles to make our goal of (I think) 13 that day.  With the sky looking quite hurricanesque we committed to touching each end of the boardwalk to make our mileage.  My wrists were numb and so was everything else.  Lisa left, I had one more colddampass mile. I finished, went for hot chocolate and my hands were too numb to stir the whipped cream.

So, now I run. In the cold. Not damp but cold and dry.  But because I run in the cold and I am in Calgary, I will wear my balaclava and be the Brooklyn Ninja With No F**ks to Give in Calgary (BNWNFGC).

One thought on “Brooklyn Ninja with no f***s to give

Leave a comment